Pesto Burgers

I’m not posting these because it’s Memorial Day or even because it’s National Hamburger Month. I’m posting these because I love this pesto and because I need to let you know how easy it is to make a plain burger really exciting.

Just for some background: just like Sunday Tomato Sauce and Pasta Tosses are my go-to in the Fall/Winter for creative but easy dinners, burgers and salads are my go-to in the Spring/Summer. I just love to have fun with them and try a million different options. And I always make my own burgers. I just love being in control of every single bite (and I know I say this a lot, but I mean it- it’s so easy!!). And- I love to have fun with tons of different toppings. I started off really basic this month but have so many plans to make a million different burgers before fall arrives (oh, the possibilities are endless).

This pesto burger just kind of happened. I wanted to make sliders and wanted each of them to be totally different. I had pesto on hand and used smoked mozzarella as the cheese. They turned out really great. The next day, I was so happy with them that I made chicken sliders for dinner and really enjoyed. Like I said, this pesto goes with everything- the possibilities really are endless!

Basic Burger Recipe:

I’ve got to tell you- this recipe is absolutely an approximation and changes every single time I make burgers, but here’s the basis:

I start out with about 1/2-3/5 lbs of lean beef. This will usually produce 2 healthy sized burgers. From there I like to add the following: 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 shallot (both finely diced), a couple of pinches of fresh thyme and a pinch of fresh parsley, a generous pinch of salt, pepper, and dried rosemary, and a couple of drops of worcestershire sauce. Then I mix gently with a fork and form into patties. I top them with olive oil and sprinkle some salt on top before placing them on a hot grill pan.

Again, this recipe changes every time I make it, but I think that’s the fun of it- having a totally different experience every single time! Hope everyone is having a restful and relaxing Memorial Day!

5 Responses

  1. [...] under: Recipes | Tagged: basil, pesto « Homemade Herbs Pesto Burgers [...]

  2. Hi Christine – These burgers look wonderful and your recipe seems really good. I’m going to try this next time I make burgers. Thanks also for visiting my blog and for your lovely comment.
    -Janna

    • Hi Janna,

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope you have luck making the burgers. This recipe changes often for me so I hope you have fun making it and making it your own!

      Christine

  3. Well, you know I am a vegetarian, so the meat burgers are out, but I love the pesto burger idea. I could veg it up. Your pictures look great and your sliders are adorable, just like you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

