Feeling Lucky

Last week wasn’t perfect. Had some trouble with a recipe and had to chuck the whole post- that stunk. Had a tough week at work- that was stressful. Got hacked by absolutely awful spam- that’s the worst! However, I believe that when something bad happens to you, something good is waiting for you just around the corner.

Foodbuzz

First, I was accepted into the Foodbuzz Featured Publisher program this week! I’m super excited- if anything because it makes me feel a little validated. I have a blog. I like to cook. I write about the things I cook… That’s it! It might not seem so amazing but it’s definitely something meaningful for me. Plus, the Foodbuzz community is a really great place to meet new bloggers- and a great resource for me as I’m learning my way through this thing called blog.

MAJOR AWARD

Second, I won an award!!! Isn’t she pretty. I’m naming her Veronica because she’s sassy! But actually it’s called an “It’s a Major Award!” and it was given to me by Wendi of Bon Appetit Hon. Here was my acceptance speech:

“I won an award?? I can’t believe it!! Who to thank?? First I’ll thank my family for not believing in me and forcing me to show them how good I can cook- HA! Second I’d like to thank my boyfriend for being a guinea pig (sorry about that Stir-Fry again) and sometimes sous chef. And last, I’d like to thank Wendi, who beyond this award (which is so awesome I can’t wait to put it up on my website!!!) is also challenging me with her food memories project and really showing me how cool a blogging community can be (isn’t that why we do this? To create community?). So thanks so much Wendi!!! Now I need to go call my family and rub it in… not only can I cook- but I got an award too!!!”

… I was trying to be a little cheeky- but I really meant it! Winning that award really made my day- and Thursday happened to be an extra tough one. So thanks again Wendi! And know that I am working hard to decide who deserves the award next!

Last, I got what has to be the absolute opposite of a mean spam post- My dad left me a comment! I’m sure he was just happy with the intense praise I gave to his meatloaf recipe but it was still really sweet and very much appreciated. He’s a great dad and I’m happy to have had my many years of not cooking to hone my tasting skills.

All in all, it turned out to be a pretty good week.

I’ve also decided to (because I’m a glutton for punishment) be a part of NaBloPoMo– otherwise knows as “National Blog Posting Month”. It’ll be hectic for sure but I do enjoy creating and being a part of this blogging community… so with all that said…

…wish me luck!!!

2 Responses

  1. Hello Christine,
    In alignment with our system of you choosing my dinner choice when we eat out, please provide a favorite and scrumptous dessert recipe that I can make at home. you choose again.

    Thanks
    Dad

  2. […] even though I’ve been a Foodbuzz Featured Publisher for a few months now, a few weeks ago I got the coveted email telling me I could now order my MOO […]

Leave a Reply

