Affogato

AffogatoAffogato

I’ve been cooking a lot lately, even more than normal. It’s become my obsession. I mean it was always my obsession- but people are starting to notice. All I talk about is food. All I think about is food. I eat breakfast and wonder what I’ll have for lunch, and while I’m eating lunch I’m wondering what I’ll have for dinner. It’s a little much- even for me.

So by dinner, I’m done. I’ve checked out. Dessert is an afterthought. It’s me wondering if I remembered to pick up that pint of Haagen Dazs or if I have any cookies left in my pantry. But last night I was in the mood for something else… something easy (it was Monday night. I was not about to start baking) but something fun and different.

I was watching Giada a few weeks ago (yes, I like the food network… ok?) and saw her making something called an affogato (which means drowned in Italian… I remembered some of it Mom). It looked easy enough. Espresso? Check. Ice cream? Check. And that’s it.

Affogato

(Adapted from Giada’s recipe)

2-3 freshly brewed shots of espresso
1 large scoop of ice cream

1. Start brewing espresso- you’ll only only need 2-3 shots.

2. Scoop one scoop of vanilla (or chocolate of you prefer) into a mug or coffee cup. I used Haagen Dazs vanilla bean because I can eat that stuff by itself (it’s so good) and because the first time I tried to make Affogato I made it with Butter Almond ice cream and it was disgusting. Seriously.

3. Pour the espresso over the ice cream. Serve immediately.

 

Ingredients

This is all you need!

I almost didn’t post this because there’s barely any cooking and isn’t the fanciest of desserts but then I thought: was it good? Yes. Did I enjoy it? Yes. Should I post this? Yes. So here it is. Enjoy!

 

One Response

  1. […] it). I got a fun surprise in my mailbox this morning and wanted to share. FoodCandy featured my Affogato post on their main page as a Featured Blog Post. Very cool guys and thanks for the shout out! And […]

Leave a Reply

