Pizza Roll

Pizza Roll

I know, I know…this is cheating! But everyone needs a quick cheat every once in a while and this one is easy. All you need is some pizza dough, my tomato sauce, some mozzarella, and your favorite pizza topping. This recipe brings me back to Venice. As soon as I stepped off the water taxi there was this awesome little Panini shop. In it I found, what I can honestly still say, was yummiest thing I’ve eaten in my entire time in Italy.

Super gooey, cheesy, saucy, doughy… that was the whole reason I went to Italy and it took me months before I had it! Either way, it only took me minutes to figure out that it was what was on the menu when I bought pizza dough. You heard me right. I bought pizza dough. It’s 3 dollars and it’s from my favorite pizza place (Sorrento’s) and its delicious and I’m scared of making home-made dough’s… but that’s another post.

This post is about pizza rolls. And it’s probably not the best title for the post or for the pizza concoction but how do you describe rolled up pizza… I think I’m talking in circles… let me just let the pictures do all the talking.

pizza roll 2

Pizza Roll

1/2 small dough
1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
2-3 tbsp tomato sauce
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Pre-heat oven to 425. Roll dough, using lots of flour, until it is about 1-2 inches thin.

2. Cover with tomato sauce and any of your favorite pizza toppings. I used grilled chicken because it’s just like Sorrento’s makes it (and mine is about 1/4 of the price!), but feel free to use sausage, pepperoni, or ricotta. Cover generously with mozzarella cheese.

3.Beginning at one corner, begin to roll the dough toward the other corner. When you get towards the middle/end you may think you’re running out of dough but just stretch the corner dough to meet the roll. It’s very stretchy! Don’t worry- it won’t break.

4. When the roll is wrapped, dampen your finger with water to close the ends. Rub a small amount of olive oil on the roll and sprinkle salt on the roll. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

This is the perfect solution to Friday night pizza night’s. It’s quick, beyond cheap, and absolutely delicious. Give it a try and let me know what you think!

pizza bite

Good to the last bite!

Leave a Reply

