Hasselbeck Potatoes

I love potatoes, but for a while they were my enemy. I tried to stay away from white starches as much as possible. Today, I’ve calmed down a bit and now try to incorporate potatoes into my dinners at least once a week. I stopped fighting it! And why should I? They’re so versatile. In the summer I must have made potato salad about 100 different ways- I was obsessed. Now I’ve become obsessed with baked potatoes and this recipe has jumped to the top of that list. This recipe is so fun! The potatoes come out crispy on the outside and moist and soft on the inside. Mix this with olive oil, salt, garlic and butter- its delicious and works perfectly as a side dish for any meal! I made mine with BBQ salmon but I know this would work with almost anything and can be spiced in so many different and fun ways.

Hasselbeck Potatoes – Serves 2

(adapted from SeaSaltwithFood)

2 medium sized potatoes
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp butter, melted
1 pinch of salt
More salt for seasoning

1. Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees. Starting on one end of the potato, slice slits into the potato- about 3/4 of the way down (making sure not to slice through the potato)- and trying to slice them spaced very closely.

2. To the garlic, add a pinch of salt and mash to create a paste. Add this paste into the potato slits- it’ll be a bit difficult but a little goes a long way . Brush the butter onto the potatoes, trying to get into the slits if possible. Then drizzle olive oil over the potatoes and sprinkle a generous amount of salt to season.

3. Bake the potatoes for about 45-50 minutes or until the potato flesh is soft.

4 Responses

  1. Oooh, this is a neat idea! I always get stuck making potatoes the same few ways, so I’m always looking for new ideas. This is a great one 🙂

  2. Hi Christine!

    I forgot all about Hasselback potatoes! I used to make those years ago! Always a hit, as I recall. Hey, have a great Thanksgiving! We’ll be eating pizza and watching old movies all day. Yeah!!!

    Patty
    aka Vampire Gran

Leave a Reply

