Shopping Day!

A few posts ago I told you about my shopping habits. Today, I was totally prepared, with list in hand and circular in bag, to get everything I needed and try to stay within my lines. But, as usual, I found myself veering off the track here and there. So I thought it would be fun if I shared with you some of my food purchases and a few of my distractions this week.

I obviously needed to get a few basics for Thanksgiving. I started out saying I would only cook a side dish and a dessert but ended up signing myself up for a few courses. Here’s the plan (let’s see if it actually happens):

1. Macaroni and Cheese

2. Cornbread

3. Eggplant Lasagna

4. Cranberry Sauce

It’s not too much- but more than I’ve ever made for any holiday so I’m really excited to see how it all comes together.

But that’s not all I purchased today. I can’t help it-  I love food, I get excited and my stomach and curiosity move quicker than my logic. I usually get home and go: “What was I thinking?”.

For example, I bought Persimmons. As I was checking out, my check-out girl asked me: “What do these taste like?” and I said “I don’t know.” And that’s why I bought them. Look at them:

Aren’t they pretty? I have no idea what they taste like, if you eat them as a fruit or cook with them, but I will soon find out.

I also got some Apple Butter when I went to get some peanut butter. I’ve never had apple butter and am always looking for different things to have for breakfast. Let’s see if some apple butter spread over toast is a win.

I also found myself buying some canned chilies. I had no clue what I would make with them but always wanted to use chilies in a recipe and was shocked to find them in my tiny supermarket.

I ended up using one of the chiles tonight to make chili, something I’ve been dying to make in forever, and WHOA! It turned out great!! I plan on posting that recipe tomorrow. It was super simple and packed with lots of flavor!I also can’t wait to make and post the recipe to the eggplant lasagna (it’s just amazing). It should be a great week for food and for cooking!

2 Responses

  1. So what did you think of the persimmons? I tried one for the first time this fall and couldn’t figure out what the fuss was about. But maybe I’m the exception to the rule.

Leave a Reply

